Book Parties and Festivals

2012 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

Multiple Authors

About the Program

The 77th annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, presented to "books that have made an important contribution to society's understanding of racism and diversity of human cultures."  Jury Chair Henry Louis Gates, Jr. presents a lifetime achievement award to Arnold Rampersad, humanities professor at Stanford University and author of biographies of Ralph Ellison and Langston Hughes.  Awards are also given for non-fiction, David Blight, American Oracle: The Civil War in the Civil Rights Era and David Livingstone Smith, Less Than Human: Why We Demean, Enslave, and Exterminate Others and for fiction, Esi Edugyan, Half-Blood Blues: A Novel.  The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards are held at the Ohio Theatre in Cleveland. 

Program Information

2012 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

Watch This Program
Watch This Program

Purchase This Program

Past Airings

  • Tuesday, December 25th at 6am (ET)
  • Sunday, October 7th at 4pm (ET)
  • Saturday, October 6th at 8pm (ET)
C-SPAN Radio Mobile App