Encore Booknotes

Encore Booknotes: Margaret Thatcher, "The Downing Street Years"

Margaret Thatcher

About the Program

Former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, who passed away on April 8, 2013, appeared on Booknotes in 1993 to talk about her memoir, "The Downing Street Years." Ms. Thatcher's book chronicles her tenure as Prime Minister from 1979 to 1990. She also talked about the Falklands War, her relationship with world leaders like Mikhail Gorbachev, Helmut Kohl, and Ronald Reagan, and pivotal decisions she made while in office. 

About the Authors

Margaret Thatcher

Margaret Thatcher, first elected to the British Parliament in 1959, served as Prime Minister from May 1979 to November 1990.  Prime Minister Thatcher was also the head of the British Conservative Party from 1975 to 1990.  She was the author of "The Path to Power" and "Statecraft." 

Buy the author's book from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Program Information

Encore Booknotes:  Margaret Thatcher, "The Downing Street Years"

Watch This Program
Watch This Program

Past Airings

  • Saturday, April 13th at 6pm (ET)
  • Saturday, December 31st at 6pm (ET)
  • Sunday, May 25th at 1pm (ET)
  • Sunday, October 12th at 11:03am (ET)
  • Saturday, October 11th at 7pm (ET)
Listen to C-SPAN Radio