In Depth

In Depth: Rick Atkinson

About the Program


Rick Atkinson is the author of six non-fiction books, including the Liberation Trilogy:

The Long Gray Line (1989); Crusade: The Untold Story of the Persian Gulf War (1993); An Army at Dawn: The War in North Africa, 1942-1943 (2002); In the Company of Soldiers: A Chronicle of Combat (2004); The Day of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy, 1943–1944; and The Guns at Last Light: The War in Western Europe, 1944–1945 (2013).

About the Authors

Rick Atkinson

Rick Atkinson worked as a staff writer and senior editor at the Washington Post for roughly twenty years. The award-winning military historian writes on such topics as the liberation of Europe in World War II, the Iraq War and the Persian Gulf War a decade earlier. The Pulitzer Prize and Polk Award winning journalist has authored six books, including the Liberation Trilogy of “An Army at Dawn,” which received the Pulitzer Prize in 2003, “The Day of Battle” and the 2013 finale “The Guns at Last Light.”

Program Information

In Depth: Rick Atkinson

Watch This Program
Watch This Program

Purchase This Program

Past Airings

  • Saturday, June 8th at 8am (ET)
  • Monday, June 3rd at 12am (ET)
  • Sunday, June 2nd at 12pm (ET)
C-SPAN Radio Mobile App