Book Parties and Festivals

2012 National Book Awards

Multiple Authors

About the Program

Book TV presents the 63rd annual National Book Awards.  Finalists in the non-fiction category are Anne Applebaum, Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1945-1956, Katherine Boo, Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity, Robert Caro, The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Domingo Martinez, The Boy Kings of Texas: A Memoir, and Anthony Shadid, House of Stone: A Memoir of Home, Family, and a Lost Middle East.  The National Book Foundation presents The Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters to author Elmore Leonard and The Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community to Arthur Sulzberger, Jr. chairman, CEO, and publisher of The New York Times.  Prior to the awards ceremony, BookTV interviews several of the evening's participants, including the non-fiction finalists.  The event is hosted by Faith Salie at Cipriani in New York City.

Awards went to:
*William Alexander, author of “Goblin Secrets” 
Young Peoples Literature Award
*David Ferry, poet of “Bewilderment”
Poetry Award
*Katherine Boo, author of “Behind the Beautiful Forevers” 
Nonfiction Award
*Louise Erdrich, author of “The Round House"
Fiction Award

Program Information

2012 National Book Awards

Watch This Program
Watch This Program

Purchase This Program

Past Airings

  • Wednesday, December 26th at 6am (ET)
  • Tuesday, December 25th at 12am (ET)
  • Sunday, December 2nd at 9am (ET)
  • Saturday, November 17th at 8pm (ET)
C-SPAN Radio Mobile App