Book Parties and Festivals

2012 American Book Awards

Multiple Authors

About the Program

The 33rd annual American Book Awards presented by the Before Columbus Foundation.  This year's winners are Annia Ciezadlo, Day of Honey: A Memoir of Food, Love, and War, Arlene Kim, What Have You Done to Our Ears to Make Us Hear Echoes?, Ed Bok Lee, Whorled, Adilifu Nama, Super Black: American Pop Culture and Black Superheroes, Rob Nixon, Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor, Shann Ray, American Masculine, Alice Rearden (translator) & Ann Fienup-Riordan (editor), Qaluyaarmiuni Nunamtenek Qanemciput: Our Nelson Island Stories,  Toure, Who's Afraid of Post-Blackness?: What It Means to Be Black Now, Amy Waldman, The Submission, Mary Winegarden, The Translator's Sister, and Kevin Young, Ardency: A Chronicle of the Amistad Rebels.  A Lifetime Achievement Award is given to Eugene B. Redmond, poet and professor emeritus at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.   This year's American Book Awards are held at the University of California at Berkeley.

Program Information

2012 American Book Awards

Past Airings

  • Sunday, November 11th at 2pm (ET)
  • Saturday, November 10th at 11:45pm (ET)
Washington Journal on C-SPAN