In Depth

In Depth: David Pietrusza

About the Program

David Pietrusza is the author of 9 non-fiction books:

Minor Miracles: The Legend and Lure of Minor League Baseball (1995); Lights On!: The Wild, Century-Long Saga of Night Baseball (1997); Judge and Jury: The Life and Times of Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis (2001); Rothstein: The Life, Times and Murder of the Criminal Genius who Fixed the 1919 World Service (2003); Major Leagues: The Formation, Sometimes Absorption and Mostly Inevitable Demise of 18 Professional Baseball Organizations, 1871-Present (2005); Baseball's Canadian American League: A History of Its Inception, Franchises, Participants, Locales, Statistics, Demise & Legacy, 1936-1951 (2005); 1920: The Year of the Six Presidents (2007); 1960: LBJ vs JFK vs Nixon: The Epic Campaign that Forged Three Presidencies (2008); 1948: Harry Truman's Improbable Victory and the Year that Transformed America (2011).

He is also co-author of Ted Williams: My Life in Pictures (2001) and editor of Silent Cal's Almanack: The Homespun Wit and Wisdom of Vermont's Calvin Coolidge (2008).



About the Authors

David Pietrusza

Mr. Pietrusza is former editor-in-chief of Total Sports Publishing and a past National President of the Society for American Baseball Research  (SABR).  He has also served on the Board of Trustees of the Calvin Coolidge Memorial Foundation and been chosen to serve on the Siena College Research Institute (SRI) Survey of United States Presidents, with fellow historians David McCullough and Douglas Brinkley, among others.  Mr. Pietrusza earned both his bachelors and Master's degrees from the University of Albany.

Program Information

In Depth: David Pietrusza

Watch This Program
Watch This Program

Purchase This Program

Past Airings

  • Saturday, September 8th at 12am (ET)
  • Friday, September 7th at 8pm (ET)
  • Saturday, July 7th at 9am (ET)
  • Monday, July 2nd at 12am (ET)
  • Sunday, July 1st at 12pm (ET)
C-SPAN Radio Mobile App