Business of Books

2010 Book Expo America: CEO Panel - "The Value of a Book"

Jonathan Galassi; Bob Miller; Esther Newberg; Skip Prichard; David Shanks; Oren Teicher; Scott Turow

About the Program

From Book Expo America at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center in New York City, a discussion on the current and future state of the publishing industry with chief executive officers from several publishing houses and trade organizations.  The panelists include, David Shanks, chief executive officer, Penguin Group (USA), Inc, Skip Prichard, chief executive officer, Ingram Content Group Inc, Oren Teicher, chief executive officer, American Booksellers Association, Bob Miller, group publisher, Workman Publishing, Esther Newberg, executive vice president, International Creative Management, and Scott Turow, author and incoming president, Authors Guild.  The event is moderated by Jonathan Galassi, president, Farrar, Straus and Giroux.  Book Expo America is an annual trade show for the publishing industry that features author events, educational panels, and information on soon-to-be published books.

About the Authors

Bob Miller

Bob Miller is the group publisher at Workman Publishing.  He was formerly the founder of HarperStudio and president and founder of Hyperion.  For more information, visit 

Esther Newberg

Esther Newberg is executive vice president of the literary agency, International Creative Management.  The authors she represents include, Thomas Friedman, Caroline Kennedy, Maureen Dowd, and Francis Fukuyama. 

Skip Prichard

Skip Prichard is president and chief executive officer of Ingram Content Group Inc., a book wholesaler.  Prior to joining Ingram, Mr. Prichard was the president and chief executive officer of ProQuest Information & Learning.  For more information, visit

David Shanks

David Shanks is the chief executive officer of Penguin Group (USA), Inc.  He was formerly the chief operating officer for Penguin Putnam, president of Putnam Berkley Group, and president of the Berkley Publishing Group.  For more information, visit

Oren Teicher

Oren Teicher has been the chief executive officer for the American Booksellers Association since June 2009.  He has served as the association's associate executive director, director of government affairs, and chief operation officer.  For more information, visit

Scott Turow

Scott Turow is the author of several novels and the non-fiction titles, One L and Ultimate Punishment, the winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award in 2004.  Mr. Turow is an attorney who has been a partner with the Chicago law firm, Sonnenschein, Nath & Rosenthal since 1986.  For more information, visit




Jonathan Galassi

Jonathan Galassi is the president of Farrar, Straus and Giroux, where he has also served as editor-in-chief, executive vice president, and publisher. 

Program Information

2010 Book Expo America: CEO Panel - "The Value of a Book"

Watch This Program
Watch This Program

Purchase This Program

Past Airings

  • Sunday, August 15th at 2:30pm (ET)
  • Sunday, June 6th at 2am (ET)
  • Saturday, June 5th at 12:30pm (ET)
  • Monday, May 31st at 6:30am (ET)
  • Sunday, May 30th at 7:30pm (ET)
Washington Journal on C-SPAN